Nominations are now closed

These awards recognize extraordinary leaders and innovators in virtual/digital and tele-health, and will be recognized at the ATA2020 Annual Conference and Expo May 3-5, in Phoenix, AZ. Nominations must be submitted by Friday, February 28, 2020, 11:59 EST. Award winners will be notified the week of March 20, 2020.

Nominating Process

All active ATA members are eligible to submit nominations. Submissions can be made for a project, program, institution, or individual in the telehealth field. All nominating material must be submitted using the online nomination platform.

Selecting Process

Awards will be determined by an award committee composed of recognized authorities in the telehealth industry. Nominations must include documentation that the nominee has contributed to the substantial development and/or deployment of telehealth. The basis for judgment and selection of award recipients will be the documents submitted to the Association. Please note, projects and institutions affiliated with current officers of the ATA are ineligible.

Submission Checklist

Prior to submission, make sure you have all the items required:

  • Name of nominator (can be self)
  • Name of nominee (can be self)
  • Nominee overview – an abstract detailing how the nominee meets the selection of criteria (maximum of 150 words)
  • Support/endorsement letter(s) (not required, but suggested)
  • Contact information for nominator and nominee (Title, Organization, Address, Phone, Email, Twitter)

Nominations must be received by February 28, 2020, 11:59EST.

ATA’s President’s Award for Innovation in Remote Healthcare Award recognizes organizations making remarkable advances in telehealth. To be considered for this award, one or more of the following criteria must be met:

  • Innovative new technology development or adaptation
  • Novel use of technology leading to innovative health applications and social services support at the individual or community level
  • Creative strategies for removing barriers to implementation and adoption Innovative approaches to fostering partnerships and collaboration
  • Innovative ways of responding to needs of end-users and/or improving ergonomics
  • New ideas, concepts, formulation and paradigms, and new ways of thinking “outside the box”


ATA’s President’s Award for the Transformation of Healthcare Delivery Award recognizes the leadership of an organization that incorporates virtual healthcare services (i.e., telehealth) as part of an initiative resulting in improved quality and better value healthcare for a large population of patients. Consideration for this award will factor impact on the population served, including:

  • Special needs groups
  • Academic output such as peer-reviewed research and presentations
  • Targeted education programs
  • Number of sites
  • Business case or business model
  • Long-term sustainability
  • Effective partnerships and collaboration


ATA Champion Award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to ATA’s strategy to advocate for public policy changes that open payment support and provide regulatory relief.


To be considered for this award, a minimum of two of the following criteria must be met:

  • Has demonstrated leadership in educating the public and/or government about telehealth and telehealth services
  • Has demonstrated leadership in working with state licensure boards and government bodies to eliminate barriers for the use of telehealth
  • Has shown dedication and commitment to working with state, local, or government officials in expanding reimbursement for telehealth services
  • Has collaborated with vested stakeholders to develop legislation that will allow providers to treat patients across state lines without needing to obtain multiple state medical licenses


ATA Woman of the Year Award will recognize a woman who exemplifies exceptional leadership and entrepreneurial qualities. She is recognized by her peers as an inspirational executive that leads with strong business acuity and is lauded for her ability to recognize and empower future female leaders.


To be considered for this award, a minimum of three of the following criteria must be met:

  • CEO or Executive Director of a telehealth company, organization, or agency for a minimum of 5 years
  • Has consistently shown growth of an organization through developing or improving products, services, and/or revenue that advances the mission of telehealth
  • Has demonstrated commitment to fostering the growth and development of women in telehealth
  • Inspires others through her actions and words
  • Serves as a catalyst for innovative approaches to advance telehealth and women in telehealth


Please contact DeAnna Grosbaum  with any questions related to ATA2020 Annual Conference and Expo Awards.


Previous Winners


Innovation in Remote Healthcare Award

2004 – VISICU and MedAire
2005 – iNTERFACEWARE and In Touch Health
2006 – HealthPia America and Health-e-Access Program
2007 – Antenatal and Neonatal Guidelines, Education and Learning System
2008 – Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Care Coordination Services
2009 – Continua Health Alliance
2010 – Corventis AVIVO and Myca Health
2011 – Michael D. Abramoff, MD, PhD, Automated Medical Diagnostics (AMDx)
2012 – PTSD Coach Mobile Application (T2)
2013 – DOD Safe Helpline Mobile Application
2014 – Burke Mental Health Emergency Center
2015 – Sentrian, The Remote Patient Intelligence Company
2016 – Propeller Health
2017 – Tyto Care
2018 – HemoMD
2019 - EYEmergencyMD, Inc

Transformation of Healthcare Delivery Award
1996 – Jane Preston, MD
1997 – Georgia Telemedicine Program
1998 – Oklahoma Telemedicine Program
1999 – Kansas University TeleMedicine Services
2000 – Memorial University of Newfoundland
2001 – Arizona Telemedicine Program
2002 – Eastern Montana Telemedicine Network
2003 – Missouri Telehealth Network
2004 – Alaska Federal Health Care Access Network (AFHCAN)
2005 – North Network
2006 – University of California Davis, Center for Health & Technology
2007 – University of New Mexico, Center for Telehealth
2008 – Medical Missions for Children
2009 – Avera Health – Telehealth
2010 – Orbis international
2011 – University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
2012 – Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center
2013 – University of New Mexico, Project Echo
2014 – Center for Rural Health Innovation: MY Health-e-Schools
2015 – Center for Telehealth, University of Mississippi
2016 – United Health Centers of the San Joaquin Valley
2017 – New York Presbyterian on Demand
2018 – Nemours Children’s Health System Center for Health Delivery Innovation
2019 – South Carolina Telehealth Alliance, Medical University of South Carolina

ATA’s Champion Award
2018 – S. David McSwain, MD, Medical University of South Carolina
2019 – Nathaniel M. Lacktman, JD, Partner Foley & Ladner LLP

ATA’s Women of the Year Award
2018 – Deanna Larson, CEO, Avera eCare
2019 – J. Nwando Olayiwola, MD, MPH, FAAFP, Chief Clinical Innovation Officer, RubiconMD